Week 12: Ethnogrophy!

Oh my!!! I took this pretty seriously and to say the least, it was difficult. I always have candles going in my room so I knew those were going to be my light source, but I had no idea what I was going to do with my time. To start, I turned my phone off, gave it to my roommate and told him to give this back to me in the morning, because I was doing a project. He confusingly obliged and I went to my room to get started. I lit the candles, turned the lights off and laid on my bed. I enjoyed it for all of 10 minutes before I went to turn on a fan and realized that was electricity too. I sat back down, stared around a bit, twiddled my thumb, then started grabbing things and reading every bit of type that they contained. I did that for a while, then drew in candlelight, figured some doodling would help. I eventually just laid down and stared around, since I would usually be on my phone, but I just went to sleep. I usually sleep really well so I would not say I slept better! I do feel as though you appreciate more of nature when you do not use electricity. Although you feel more aligned with nature, no electricity is rough and can be boring. If you do not have another person to chill with and talk or go on a no electricity adventure, it will be boring. Electricity makes life easier. Life was different when there was no electricity, you went to bed when the sun went down and got up when the sun came up, so I think that they were just used to it. I think that I manage pretty well not to let technology and electricity district me when I truly want to connect with nature!

IMG_3555

Leave a Reply

